Woodware Challenge – Colours of the Earth – Day 4

Her is my take on our earthy colours, I wanted this week to make something that I could link to the Dream It Up blog, but well, I don’t really use earthy colours so I made a phone cover for Judith (the Boss) she is getting a new phone soon so I have made a pocket for it. (I haven’t posted it to her yet)

phone_case_finishedI have used a very old Dreamweaver stencil Fern and Flowers

phone_case1

you can see that I have not coloured the flowers on the stencils only the ferns. That is one of my favourite things about stencils it is so easy to only colour the parts that you want. I coloured with an assortment of ColorBox Crafters ink pads and my ColorBox Stylus tool.

phone_case2The other side I coloured in the same way but used the Leaf Branch stencil and over stencilled it.

The surface that I have used is craft Canvas by Roc-lon, which we are going to be stocking but it has not arrived yet. It is a fabric that thinks it is a paper, you can cut it with a trimmer or scissors and it very easy to use.

phone_case3

I have used a zig-zag stitch to attach some velvet to the back.

phone_case4

on the fern side I used free machining around the ferns. Then I trimmed closely to the zig-zag.

phone_case_back

Then zig-zag the two pieces together, the zig-zag gives you a nice finish and no turning or finishing off.

To see what I made for myself you can pop over to dorrie’s doodles but I am not finished yet…

Judith sent me this card this week and it fits in with the theme, I think that she found it as she was wondering about recycling it as it was for Dave her husbands birthday a few years ago and as it is his birthday again this week I think she is planning to give it to him again.

The stamps are Clear Magic one designed by Francoise Mr Fix It and DIY. It must have taken hours to make!

Thank you for visiting today see you soon!

 

6 thoughts on “Woodware Challenge – Colours of the Earth – Day 4

  1. What a fabulous phone cover Dorothy and such a thoughtful prezzie for Judith !! And what a pretty mirror cover as well !! You have been very busy,,,,,,,,

    hugs Diane xx

    Like

  2. I so lucky to work with such talented ladies at Woodware, I’ll have to go and get a new phone so you can make me a cover too Dorothy. I hope that there is some Roc-Lon canvas in my box from Woodware along with my new Christmas 2013 stamps ready to make some new samples. Jane xxx

    Like

  3. I can’t wait to gte some of the canvas that “thinks it is paper”! What a clever phone and mirror case you have made with it Dorothy.
    Judith’s card is fabulous – what a brilliant creation. I have to make a 50th masculine card for a friend and this would be a great idea to copy. Might take a bit of time to make though!

    Like

Leave a Reply

